Keukenhof has a rich history. For centuries, the area was part of the estate of Teylingen Castle. During the 15th century, game was hunted and food collected in the region’s untamed woods and dunes, for the kitchens of the castle of Jacoba van Beieren. This is where ‘Keukenhof’ gets its name, which means ‘kitchen courtyard’ in Dutch.
Landscape architects Jan David Zocher and his son Louis Paul Zocher, who also designed Amsterdam’s Vondelpark, redesigned the castle gardens in 1857. That park, in the English landscape style, still forms the basis of Keukenhof.
In 1949, the Mayor of Lisse joined forces with a number of flower bulb growers to organise the very first flower exhibition. It soon developed into an annual event. Every spring, Keukenhof now attracts hundreds of thousands of visitors from across the world for the most beautiful and flower-packed day out.